The People from Brüggen called their railroad “Brüggener Klimp” which ran between Brüggen and Dülken. The railway line was built primarily for the transportation of roof tiles and clay pipes. Between 1890 and 1966 drove passenger trains also. In 1975 the last freight train ran on the railway line. In 1981 the old train station in Brüggen and was expanded to a hotel.
The Kreuzherrenkloster located in the center of Brüggen. The monastery is including the monastery church of Saint Nicholas. This was used as a residence tract and as well as a kitchen area and supply rooms. In addition to the farm buildings, there was a Latin school also. In 1751 the two-storey convent burned partially. In 1756 the Crusaders built in on in the late Baroque style again. Today the building is used as a town hall.
To get more information and materials, brochures, city maps, hiking and cycling maps etc. ask at the reception or at the tourist information Gemeinde Brüggen.
On 01 May 1958, the machine manufacturer Wilhelm Kerren, opened its nature and animal park in Brüggen for the first time. It arose from his private park. Kerren cared about many animals in his park. And as more and more people from the region visited him, he decided to open a nature park and a zoo. In addition in his own Locksmith he built beautiful playground equipment by his own ideas. After the founder’s death his family took over the park in 1979. Today the park is home of many exotic animals from all five continents who want to be admired and feed. For children, a special playground with tons of games and sports attractions is available. The zoo is a unique family leisure experience for young and old.
The exact founding date of the castle Dilborn is not known. However, there are indications that the construction must have been taken place around 1200. The first mentioned are documented in 1363, where it the castle was owned by the family of Seger from Salmen. In 1583 Gerhard von Elmpt built a new house. The Imperial Count Julius von Schaesberg-Thanheim then acquired the Water Castle in 1853. The old castle was probably demolished in 1850. Unfortunately, today only the gardens are seen.